It Follows Movie Review ( I Want a Restraining Order )

It Follows is about a fatal curse that is passed on from victim to victim through sexual encounters. Why, you ask? I’m not sure. The movie never really explains that whole premise. At least with The Ring, we knew the story behind the cursed video. ( No, I do not always need a back story or a plot handed to me on a silver platter). I’m not against indie horror films that go for style and story over scaring the audience. And I also realize that every horror flick doesn’t have to be packed with gore and jumps scares. However, It Follows left me with nothing. No sense of dread, I was never creeped out, freaked out, or the least bit afraid. And when the dead victims, ghosts, cursed, w/e, appeared, it was nowhere near as effective as how M. Night Shyamalan pulled it off in The Sixth Sense and Michael Myer’s extremely eerie stalking of Laurie in John Carpenter’s Halloween. And don’t get me started on how ridiculous and frustrating the pool scene was! I’m not necessarily suggesting skipping It Follows, but if you never end up seeing this over-hyped movie, you’re not missing much.

 

15 thoughts on “It Follows Movie Review ( I Want a Restraining Order )

  1. While I haven’t seen this movie yet, I think you’ve made some valid points. I’m a little surprised at a couple of the comments here. While my blog is primarily book reviews, there are many times I’ve disagreed with other reviews. My fellow book reviewers and I are always respectful of one another though. Wouldn’t it be a boring world if we all held the same opinions?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t agree more with everything you said. Isn’t part of reviewing something, adding your opinion and letting readers come to their own conclusion? So I was a little thrown back by the pissy comments I received. I’ve disagreed with plenty of other writer’s reviews but I never picked on their “technique”. Gotta admit, that comment stung a little. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m gonna try and be a little nicer…….but yeah you’re dead wrong on this one πŸ˜‰

    The ambiguity of it works perfectly, and the sense of dread seeing shapes in the background, I mean just imagine that whatever youre doing right now, something is coming to kill you. If that doesn’t scare you theres something wrong:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a very scary thought and that’s what frustrated me. The beach scene, if you’re afraid something is going to kill you at any moment why are you facing the ocean totally exposed to everything behind you?! Then she takes off to an isolated forest falling asleep on the hood of the car leaving herself totally vulnerable. I would’ve super glued myself to the guy that passed it on to me since he could also still see “it”. And where were their parents? Atleast a couple of them were under 18 and taking off for days at a time. (I realize I over think everything) And don’t get me started on the pool scene. Unfortunatly, the concept had potentional but was poorly executed. But yes, I agree that having to look over my shoulder for the rest of my life from a deadly entity would be quite scary, no matter how slow it was. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Horrible review. The whole point of the movie is not knowing why. Not everything needs to be easily feed to you for it to be good. You should feel bad, you have a very poor technique. If you miss this review, you’re not missing out on much.

    Like

      1. Not asking you to feel bad, it just felt more like an opinion piece than a genuine review. Hype is a dangerous thing with horrors…I never bother with trailers anymore for that reason. If you expeCT something from a film, you will be disappointed 98% of the time.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

